Get Noticed

6 02 2008

 Guy Kawasaki is one of my heroes, he was one of the original employees of Apple inc, and now he runs his own venture capital firm (both are my dream jobs), he also runs his own blog called How to Change the World.  I was reading his blog and found one of the most creative ways to get noticed to a potential employer or investor, as the case may be. 

Everyone searches for that one thing to put in a cover letter that will make them stand out, that will make the person reading the e-mail actually want to open your attachment and see what you bring to the table.  Sherry Couch of BizNiche did just that while seeking Guy as an investor, she nailed the subject line and made Guy want to open the e-mail.  Below is the most creative cover letter I could ever imagine:

Everything you should know about me as an entrepreneur you could learn from my OB/GYN

  1. I am very good at conceiving an idea. 
  2. I can commit to something mind, body, and soul for at least nine months. 
  3.  I have the ability to over come adversity, such as eating healthily while puking all day. 
  4.  I can adapt quickly to changing and expanding situations. 
  5.  I stay focused and motivated even with a lack of oxygen to my brain. 
  6.  I am creative: Did you know with satin pajamas and satin sheets you can roll over in bed even with an extra sixty pounds. 
  7.  I am patient-ever known anyone ten months pregnant? 
  8.  I am cool under pressure: I gave birth to a ten-pound baby without a C-section or a properly functioning epidural and did not curse out my husband. 
  9.  I am resilient: I went back to work at my company four weeks after giving birth. 
  10.  I create meaning in the world! Even with all the trials and tribulations of becoming a parent I have chosen to do it twice so far because each new life gives hope and meaning to our world. Just like each new business.

Probably the easiest way to make extra money is to be innovative and get noticed, and Sherry did just that with this e-mail.   If you were a hiring manager and this e-mail came across your desk, wouldn’t you want to meet the person it came from?  I almost wouldn’t care about the résumé  because she showed enough with this e-mail to let me know that she knows how to get the job done.

I know that the next time I am in the job market, or even just trying to get noticed, I’m going to work on a creative way to do so.  I even forwarded this to my Mother-in-law who is thinking about starting her own business! 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

