Finding Opportunity in Disaster

29 05 2008

I am the luckiest guy in the world, I’m married to my high school sweetheart, today I turn 23, and yesterday I closed on my house an hour after I found out about a leak that flooded the front bedroom. 

Why do I consider myself lucky after closing on something that most people would have not closed on?  I consider myself lucky for two reasons.  The first is because I’m much luckier to have it happen before I move in, than to have it happen later, ruin furniture, and interrupt my life.  The second reason is because it allowed both sides to come back to the negotiation table. 

I wrote last week about how once the builder had my earnest money, I had no negotiating power.  This leak allowed me to get more.  Mary and I maintained a calm demeanor, we expected random issues like this (in fact almost this exact thing happened to my cousin’s new house after they moved in).  We decided what we wanted and went back to the table.  By no means were we greedy, but we decided that we wanted an extended warranty on the house and a guarantee for when everything would be fixed.  We got both, and closed.

If it had happened in two weeks I’d still consider myself lucky, because I have a fully funded emergency fund, a home warranty, and insurance for occasions like this.


Actions

Information

3 responses

29 05 2008
Peter Quinn

Hi. I am a long time reader. I wanted to say that I like your blog and the layout.

Peter Quinn

8 06 2008
Aliaksandr

Hello 🙂

Looked into your other posts. I like the way you think. Looks like the right way to me. Thoughts about ideas, pitching, corporate policy changes…

I really wonder how did you do it – bought a home being 23… really… Is US really a land of dreams?

Aliaksandr

9 06 2008
danielb

Aliaksandr,

Thanks for the comment. The way I was able to buy a house at a young age is really for 3 reasons. I work very hard (though I’m lacking on the blog right now…sorry! Moving isn’t easy!), I married young (having two family incomes is a huge help when you are young), and my wife and I are blessed to have family who taught us great money management skills, and have helped us out a great deal.

Ok, 4…I also live in TX, land here is cheap.

More posting will happen this week!

Leave a comment